About GS
CUHK Overview

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, incorporated in October 1963 under a Hong Kong Ordinance, is a bilingual and multicultural institution of higher learning. Its objectives are to (i) assist in the preservation, dissemination, communication and increase of knowledge; (ii) provide regular courses of instruction in the humanities, the sciences, and other branches of learning of a standard required and expected of a university of the highest standing; and (iii) stimulate the intellectual and cultural development of Hong Kong and thereby assist in promoting its economic and social welfare.


A wide range of full-time undergraduate programmes leading to the BA, BBA, BChiMed, BEd, BEng, LLB, BMedSc, MB ChB, BNurs, BPharm, BSc and BSSc degrees are offered by various departments under the Faculties of Arts, Business Administration, Education, Engineering, Law, Medicine, Science and Social Science. There is also a part-time degree programme leading to the BEd degree.


Postgraduate programmes leading to the DMus, DNurs, EdD, PhD, PsyD, JD, LLM, MA, MAcc, MArch, MBA, MChiMed, MClinPharm, MDiv, MEd, MFA, MFM, MMus, MNSc, MNurs, MPAcc, MPH, MPhil, MSc, MSSc and MSW degrees, along with postgraduate diplomas and postgraduate certificates, are offered by the Graduate School through various graduate divisions.


Since its inception, the University has adopted bilingualism and multiculturalism as the basis of its teaching, giving equal emphasis to both Chinese and English, Eastern and Western cultures. The majority of the teaching staff are bilingual (Chinese and English) and have studied and/or taught in major universities all over the world. The University is international in outlook and enjoys close association with many universities, foundations and organizations abroad.


The total student enrolment of the University as of 31 December 2015 was 29,211, of whom 16,581 were undergraduate students and 12,630 were postgraduate students.


CUHK has 32 research institutes that provide faculty members with financial support, and other facilities for research. Under these institutes are a number of research centres, and there are many smaller research/consultancy units set up under the auspices of individual faculties and departments to promote research in various subject disciplines.